4 comments on “What The Political Debates Actually Do

  1. In these elections, politicians turn their attention from production to performance. I am always conflicted when I watch these elections. On the one hand, I love a good fight. When politicians go at each other throats, there is no better spectacle. However, there is rarely substance. Research on the candidates must be done when seeing how the candidates stand on the issues. But if one can’t do well in the debates, it is safe to say he won’t be doing well in the Oval Office.

  2. The plethora of debates this year was difficult to keep up with. I found them helpful in giving me a general sense of each of the candidates, but I also quickly tired of the candidates’ way of addressing the audience.

    The political theater you mentioned could, if taken in moderation, offer improvements to “old-fashioned” debating. Because of overkill, however, it misses its opportunity to be a positive element to presidential debates.

  3. Debates are becoming a hot topic. I think the bright lights of television and other emerging media has allowed them that privilege. I agree with how debates have helped the less popular candidates. Guys like Santorum and Paul have had great debates that have allowed the public to see how fit they are for a presidential vote.

  4. While the debates can seem like a “political theatre” at times, I would disagree with the statement about the debates not addressing the issues. I think they do a solid job at allowing each candidate to express either what they think or what they know on topics presented. It was even stated at the beginning of this post that candidates like Santorum have gained popularity because of their execution at the debates. I think they are necessary to the campaigns and really do help the candidates in the end.

Leave a comment